EANM Apprenticeship Project – Paediatrics Committee

The EANM Paediatrics Committee is launching a “Paediatric Nuclear Medicine Apprenticeship Project” that is intended to foster and promote, early career NM physicians interested in paediatric nuclear medicine, providing them with an opportunity to become involved in the committee activities and to learn from the experts with the expectation that these individuals may become future leaders in this field.

This is a 2 year programme. The selected individual will be expected to participate in all committee activities as an observer (spring and congress meetings, teleconferences, special projects etc.).

The EANM will provide support travel and accommodation expenses related to the spring meeting in the framework of a predefined budget (details coming from the EANM Office).

The apprentice will conduct a research project in the field of paediatric nuclear medicine. The study must be completed during the term of the apprenticeship. The EANM will not provide a budget to conduct this study. Given these considerations a retrospective study appears to be the most suitable option. The apprentice is expected to present the study results at the EANM congress that marks the end of the programme.

One or two Paediatrics Committee members will be assigned as mentors to assist the apprentice at the various stages of the study and in any other committee related mission he/she is involved in.

The selected applicant will be required to provide quarterly written reports on his/her progress to the Chair of the Paediatrics Committee who will inform the EANM Board.

Eligibility criteria include:

  • Nuclear Medicine Physicians practicing at least 3 years
  • Exposure to paediatric nuclear medicine and preferably some experience in the field
  • Age: 38 year or under (at the time of the start of the apprenticeship)
  • Proficiency in English
  • EANM membership

Candidates will need to provide

  • A personal motivation letter
  • A support letter from the department chief
  • CV

Applicant’s data will be reviewed by the members of the EANM Paediatrics committee. Top applicant/s will be interviewed by the committee chair.

Application deadline is set with June 30, 2019

The final selection of the candidate will happen in September 2019, with the programme starting in October 2019.

Please send applications to : Ms Silvia Marchetti, EANM Executive Office, s.marchetti@eanm.org


The BELNUC  is glad to share with you the April 2019 issue of the APRAMEN Bulletin.

Wishing you a good reading,

the BELNUC Board


APRAMEN_Bulletin Apr 2019

Integrating PET imaging in drug development: a market model for PET imaging

April 4, 2019 | 09:00 – 17:00

Auditorium TI.K

Vrije Universiteit Brussel Faculty GF – Building K

Laarbeeklaan 103

1090 Brussels

Deadline for registration: March 8

Email: carlien.geldof@gmail.com

In memoriam Prof. Dr. Michel De Roo

With great sadness we inform you of the passing away of em. Prof. Dr. Michel De Roo on 13th February 2019.


Michel De Roo was born in Leuven on 18th March 1931. In 1955 he obtained his doctorate in medicine. During his studies he came into contact with radiobiology in the context of radiation therapy and radiology.

In 1961 he obtained a degree in radiology and shortly after in radiotherapy.

Under his impulse, the use of radioactive tracers for diagnosis and therapy increased considerably, creating within the radiotherapy department a subunit of nuclear medicine that became a separate department from 1968 onwards.

Prof. dr. Michel De Roo was appointed as head of this new department and as professor at the faculty of medicine in 1977 with teaching in radiological anatomy, radiotoxicology, principles and applications of radioimmunology and the use of isotopesin vitro.


He set up the European Board of Nuclear Medicine and he trained 41 specialists in nuclear medicine.

Michel De Roo was nationally and internationally respected as one of the founding fathers of nuclear medicine in Belgium and has always worked for the development of the specialty of nuclear medicine and the harmonization of training schemes within Europe.

He was chairman of the Recognition Committee for Specialists in nuclear medicine, chairman of the Belgian Association for Nuclear Medicine, conference president of the European Congress of Nuclear Medicine (EANM) in 1995 and held various board positions in scientific societies.

After ending his career at the university, he spent his early years of retirement writing a book on the history of nuclear medicine in Europe.


He was known as a professional and passionate expert, but also as a bon vivant with a warm personality, available to his employees and a fine doctor who always sought cooperation with colleagues.


He was delighted to be able to experience the 50th anniversary of the department of nuclear medicine that he founded and led for 28 years and to find that under the direction of Prof. Dr. K. Van Laere, new and challenging research paths are being followed.


In gratitude,

the BELNUC Board

Membership 2019 

For BELNUC Members:  your previous username and password are not valid any longer.

Please create a new account by clicking on  BECOME NEW MEMBER

Thank you,

your BELNUC Board

BELNUC Board Elections 2019

During the past BELNUC General Assembly held in Leuven, February 9, 2019 we have elected our new General Secretary Elect and three new Board Members.

We are glad to welcome to the BELNUC Board:

Secretary Elect 2020 – 2022 Prof. Tim VAN DEN WYNGAERT
Member 2019 – 2022 Dr. Félicie Sherer
Member 2019 – 2022 Prof. Patrick Flamen
Member 2019 – 2022 Prof. Filip De Vos


your BELNUC Board



Dear BELNUC Members,

please find here below the February 2019 issue of the APRAMEN Bulletin.

Wishing you a good reading,

the BELNUC Board


APRAMEN_Bulletin Feb 2019

IAEA Programme of Action for Cancer Therapy

The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Programme of Action for Cancer Therapy (PACT) presents their proposal concerning “Improving Diakonie and Treatment of Women’s Cancer in Low- and Middle- Income Countries”. This proposal reflects unfunded needs of IAEA Board-approved Technical Cooperation Projects.